Home Latest News

Departments urged to submit names of employees not registered to Government Employees Housing Scheme’s ILSF


Government departments have until next week Tuesday, November 30, 2021 to submit names of employees who are not registered with the Government Employees Housing Scheme (GEHS).

According to the circular issued by the Department of Public Service and Administration on Tuesday, November 23, 2021, these includes employees who are no longer in the public service space.

The GEHS was established in 2015 in terms of the Public Service Coordinating Bargaining Council (PSCBC) to administer the housing allowance including the management of Individual Linked Savings Facility (ILSF) into which employee’s savings are deposited.

These savings belong to public servants who receive the housing allowance as tenants and can only access these funds when they are ready to own or build their homes.

Public Service and Administration Director-General, Ms Yoliswa Makhasi said the circular has been sent to all national and provincial departments, adding that no further extensions will be granted beyond the set deadline of November 30, 2021.

“It has come to the attention of the department that some employees did not enroll with the GEHS because they were not informed properly and timeously by Human Resource (HR) practitioners within their respective departments before they exited government employment.

“HR units are now requested to identify those employees who are affected and the lists must be submitted to the GEHS: ILSF. Failure by the departments to submit the lists will result in employees forfeiting their housing allowance savings,” she said.

Identified categories of employees

The first category focuses on a number of employees who did not enroll with the GEHS because HR practitioners in their respective departments did not correctly and timeously informed them. 

According to Ms Makhasi, these employees are not able to withdraw their savings because of non-enrolment with the GEHS. The second category is for employees who were enrolled with the GEHS but have exited the public service space and are already off the persal system.

“These employees cannot be paid due to HR practitioners not capturing employees’ withdrawals on time or providing employees with the relevant documents before they exit their employment,” she said. The list must be forwarded to: ILSF@dpsa.gov.za by November 30, 2021.