Home Service Delivery Improvement

Government devotes Batho Pele awards to fallen public servants


Government has dedicated this year’s National Annual Batho Pele Excellence Awards (NBPEA) to all public servants who died of Covid-19 in the public service space.

“We dedicate tonight’s award ceremony to all the public servants we have lost and the memory of our loved ones that we’ve lost to the fight against Covid-19 pandemic.

“We urge everyone to take the necessary precautions, wear masks, wash your hands, adhere to social distancing and reinforce preventative behaviors to avoid the second wave of infections,” said Public Service and Administration Deputy Minister, Honorable Sindisiwe Chikunga MP, at the glittering event held at Birchwood Hotel, east of Johannesburg last Friday.

The objective of the awards is to motivate the 1.2 million public servants, who daily dedicate themselves to selflessly serve the people of South Africa.

“We are celebrating the steadfastness of men and women who have internalized, institutionalized, executed the principle of Batho Pele principles.

“These awards are an integral part of our first national priority as announced by President Cyril Ramaphosa, that of building a capable, ethical and a developmental state through a professional public service which will deliver the vision of the National Development Plan (NDP).

According to Deputy Minister Chikunga, the accolades continue to inculcate and institutionalize a culture of servitude, characterized by a sense of belonging, caring when serving citizens and putting people first.

She said that improving service delivery is the only way to rebuild the trust of South Africans in the government and public servants.

“We need to deliver on a new social pact that will drive the country towards a path of economic growth, eradication of poverty, unemployment, inequality and the scourge of gender based violence,” she said.

Below is a list of winners as per categories:

  • Best Director General (National) of the Year Dr Phil Mjwara, Department of Science and Technology
  • Best Head of Department (Provincial) of the Year Dr Beth Engelbrecht, Department of Health, Western Cape
  • Best Provincial Director-General of the Year Adv. Justice Bekebeke, Northern Cape, Office of the Premier
  • Best Functioning Provincial Department of the Year Department of Health, Western Cape
  • Best Functioning National Department of the Year Department of Science and Innovation (Technology)
  • Best Performing Senior Management Service member (SMS level 13-15) of the Year Mr Gustav Wilson
  • Best Front-Line Service Delivery Employee of the Year Ms Priscilla Zidumisile, KZN
  • Best General Worker of the Year Ntombizodwa Phyllis Mabaso, KZN
  • Best Operational Employee of the Year (L4-12) Ms Hlengiwe T Ngubane, KZN
  • Best Batho Pele Team of the Year Paulpietersburg Services Centre, Department of Social Development, KZN
  • Overall Batho Pele Winner of the Year Mr Gustav Wilson, Correctional Services Free State / Northern Cape Region
  • Life Time Achievers Ms Conny Nxumalo and Ms Duduzile Ndlovu