The Minister of Public Service and Administration Hon. Noxolo Kiviet M.P, received the Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the People’s Republic of China to the Republic of South Africa, HE Ambassador CHEN Xiaodong, in her office.

The meeting was a courtesy call by the Ambassador to congratulate the Minister on her appointment to the Public Service Portfolio. The Minister expressed her gratitude and appreciation for the warm welcome and well wishes from the Ambassador and the Republic of China.

The two officials also discussed ways to strengthen collaboration between the National School of Government and the China National Academy of Governance. As two institutions committed to improving the professionalization of the public service, it is essential that they share best practices and work together to enhance the quality of service delivery to the citizens of South Africa.

This collaboration can potentially provide significant benefits to the South African public service, as the exchange of ideas and knowledge between these institutions can lead to innovative solutions to public service challenges. It will also contribute to the training of public servants in both countries, ensuring they have the knowledge and skills required to deliver quality services to their citizens.

Furthermore, this meeting was a testament to the firm and longstanding relationship between South Africa and China. South Africa has been a strategic partner of China for many years, and the collaboration between these two countries has resulted in numerous contributions to the socioeconomic development of both nations.

The meeting between the Minister of Public Services and Administration and the Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the People’s Republic of China is a significant step towards deepening the relationship between the two countries. It clearly indicates their commitment to working together to improve the professionalization of public service and promote mutual understanding and cooperation between their respective governments.