2nd annual service delivery learning academy

Date: 9 Jul 2003 - 11 Jul 2003

Venue: Durban


The purpose of the Academy is to provide a platform for public servants, particularly on operational levels, project managers (cutting across ranks) and interested partners outside of the public service, to:

  • Network as colleagues and partners with common goals and challenges
  • Share and exchange experiences and lessons on best practice
  • Stimulate innovation
  • Interrogate systems and programmes that have been put in place for innovative improvement of service delivery

Target audience

  • Heads of service delivery institutions which interface between government and the public, such as hospitals, clinics, education district offices, home affairs offices, prisons, welfare, etc
  • Operational public servants, particularly project managers (across rank),
  • A cross-section of partners from parastatal organisations and NGOs, who are all at the coal-face of service delivery and have, among them, a wide range of valuable experiences and expertise


Day 1
Program Director: Ms Seadimo Chaba, DDG, Public Works & Management Services, Gauteng
Documentors: Messrs Bongani Matomela & Daan Prinsloo, DPSA

Break-Away Group A
Facilitator: Mr. Tony Wadsworth
Rapporteur: Ms. Maggie Maistry

Break-Away Group B
Facilitator: Mr Shabalala (SAPS)
Rapporteur: Mr. Dick Bvuma

Break-Away Group C
Facilitator: Mr. Thulani Mdakane, IPSP Coordinator
Rapporteur: Mr, Jack Shilubane, Acting GCIO, DPSA

Day 2
Programme Manager: Mr Mpume Sikhosana, DG, Public Service Commission
Documentors: Messrs Bongani Matomela & Daan Prinsloo

Break-Away Group A
Facilitator: Mr. Marcel Wilson
Rapporteur: Mr. Dick Bvuma

Break-Away Group B
( Site visits organized by the Center for Public Service Innovation, Led by Mr Imraam Patel, CPSI )

Day 3
Program Manager: Mr Kgotla Bantsi, DPSA
Documentors: Messrs Daan Prinsloo & Bongani Matomela

Last update: 22 September 2011

*Having trouble viewing this site? Please make sure you are using Internet Explorer version 7 or later or Firefox version 3 or later.