DPSA IN THE MEDIA: United Nations call for nominations for the Global Public Service Awards for 2012

Date: 3 Oct 2011

The United Nations is calling for nominations for the UN Public Service Awards for 2012. This is an international contest designed to promote and support innovations in public service delivery worldwide.

The United Nations Public Service Awards (UNPSA) is the most prestigious international recognition of excellence in public service. It rewards the creative achievements and contributions of public service institutions that lead to a more effective and responsive public administration in countries worldwide. Through an annual competition, the UN Public Service Awards promotes the role, professionalism and visibility of public service.

The award is open to public organisations of all kinds, including governments and public-private partnerships, that are involved in delivering services to citizens around the globe. An annual United Nations event, the Public Service Award is bestowed on those public institutions that have distinguished themselves in the following categories:

  • Preventing and combating corruption in the Public Service;
  • Improving the delivery of services;
  • Fostering participation in policy-making decision through innovative mechanisms;
  • Advancing knowledge management in government; and
  • Promoting gender-responsive delivery in Public Services.

The award highlights cutting edge innovations and recognises that democracy and successful governance are built on a competent civil service.

"The United Nations has long recognised that effective governance and efficient public administration are central to the global development agenda and particularly in achieving the Millenium Development Goals. We need sound public policies and supportive governance structures. We need to respond swiftly and coherently," said the United Nations Secretary-General, Mr Ban Ki-moon.

The 2012 Public Service Awards will mark the 10th anniversary of the programme. Selected by the United Nations Committee of Experts on Public Administration, the winners will receive a trophy and a certificate of recognition during the awards ceremony on 23 June 2012.

*Having trouble viewing this site? Please make sure you are using Internet Explorer version 7 or later or Firefox version 3 or later.