About the dpsa

Deputy Minister for the Public Service & Administration

Dr Chana Pilane-Majake is the Deputy Minister for Public Service and Administration since February 2018. She is a Member of Parliament of the Republic of South Africa. She was previously appointed as Chief Executive Officer for the Commission on Gender Equality, a Chapter Nine Institution in terms of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa (SA), a position she held for eight years before joining VIP Consulting Engineers as Executive Director for Human Resources where she worked until her deployment to Parliament. She holds a Doctorate in Literature and Philosophy from University of South Africa, a Masters Degree in Social Science from the University of Natal now known as the University of Kwa-Zulu Natal, an Honors & Bachelors Degree from University of the North now known as the University of Limpopo, a Diploma in Development Studies from Stanford University, California, USA. Before joining the Commission on Gender Equality in 2002, she worked for a bilateral programme between SA & EU - European Union Foundation for Human Rights in South Africa as a Consultant and Project Officer assisting in funding human rights organizations, promoting the culture of human rights in South Africa.

She is a scholar with extensive lecturing experience at University of the North and University of Natal respectively, teaching Human Rights and Development Studies. She is in her voluntary capacity, a Founder member of a number of schools for children with disabilities. Dr Chana Pilane-Majake has been extensively involved in inviting and organizing major international and national events that promote human rights in South Africa. She has served on different Boards in pursuance of political, economic and social justice for the people of South Africa. During the struggle days through United Democratic Movement (UDM) and South African Black Social Workers Association (SABSWA), a channel that used to make contact with the ANC leadership in exile, she worked tirelessly on the ground on a number of development projects with women, children and detainees. At the height of political violence in Kwazulu-Natal where she lived at the time, she worked as a peace broker and counselor for displaced families (in particular, Chemoreng Displaced Families at Glebe Hostel-Umlazi and Malukazi south of Durban). Dr Pilane-Majake was also part of the National Co-ordination Committee for Repatriation from 1992 to 1994.

Dr Pilane-Majake also has extensive knowledge and understanding of Southern African Development Community (SADC), African Union (AU) and United Nations (UN) Systems. She has participated in a number of the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women now (UN Women) Sessions at UN Headquarters in New York, USA. She has also published a number of articles in various journals and was instrumental in the development of the SA Gender Training and Resource Manual that has been widely utilized by the National Gender Machinery in promoting gender transformation in SA.

As a member of the ANC, Dr Chana Pilane-Majake has served in various capacities in structures of the movement for the liberation of the people of South Africa. She served as Member in the 4th & 5th Parliament in the Justice & Constitutional Development Portfolio Committee, ad Hoc Committee for Code of Judicial Conduct, (For Judges), Public Enterprises Portfolio Committee, Constitutional Review Committee, Portfolio Committee for Women, Whip for the Justice & Correctional Services Portfolio Committee and Cluster Whip for Peace and Stability.

Last update: 3 April 2018

*Having trouble viewing this site? Please make sure you are using Internet Explorer version 7 or later or Firefox version 3 or later.